7/13/98 Carol Sikes [aunt_pol@yahoo.com] - Greetings, question, and one objection

Dear Meister and Board Readers,

I have so enjoyed reading this bulletin board!  Thank you for the hours of entertainment.  I do have a question, which undoubtedly comes from my vast ignorance of Jane Austen's background and writing history.  It deals with Northanger Abbey (I'm sorry, I'm very new at this and have no clue how to italicize or underline doing this).  Why was the original title going to be Susan?  The main character's name is Catherine, not Susan.  I have always wondered about this.  I can readily understand First Impressions (the best title for P&P) and Marianne & Elinore (or is it Elinore and Marianne?), but Susan just makes no sense to me.

My objection is about something you said in your attack of Emma Thompson's S&S. While I do not agree with all your opinions about the flawed movie, this deals with facts, not opinions.  You say, "Incidentally, it is not true that the Dashwood sisters had been raised at Norland, their immediate family had been in possession of the estate for only a single year before they lost it again."  (Sorry if someone had already corrected you on this - I saw no evidence of it as I perused all the back chatting.)  In reality, JA says in S&S, "But her death [the sister the uncle had had living with him], which happened ten years before his own, produced a great alteration in his home for to supply her loss, he invited and received into his house the family of his nephew Mr. Henry Dashwood, the legal inheritor of the Norland estate, and the person to whom he intended to bequeath it."  That means that Elinore was 8, Marianne was 6, and Margaret was 2 when they first went to live there - over half their lives before they left.

Keep up the good work!!
Carol

7/13/98 Julie Grassi Susan

Dear Carol,